t20 world cup match schedule

The T20 World Cup is one of the most exciting and popular events in the cricketing calendar. It showcases the best of the shortest format of the game, with high-octane action, thrilling finishes, and nail-biting contests. The next edition of the T20 World Cup will be held in 2024, and it promises to be a historic one. Here are some of the key facts and features of the upcoming tournament.

The T20 World Cup 2024 will be the ninth edition of the tournament, and the first one to be co-hosted by two countries: the West Indies and the United States of America. This will also be the first time that the USA will host any major ICC event, marking a significant milestone for cricket development in the country.

The tournament will feature 20 teams, an increase from 16 teams in the previous edition. The top eight teams from the 2022 T20 World Cup, along with the two hosts, qualified automatically. The remaining eight teams were decided through regional qualifiers, with two teams each from Africa, Asia, and Europe, and one team each from Americas and East Asia-Pacific.

T20 World Cup Schedule

The 20 teams will be divided into four groups of five, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Super 8 stage. The Super 8 stage will have two groups of four teams each, with the top two teams from each group qualifying for the semi-finals. The semi-final winners will face off in the final on June 29, 2024.

June 1USA vs CanadaDallas
June 2West Indies vs Papua New GuineaGuyana
June 2Namibia vs OmanBarbados
June 3Sri Lanka vs South AfricaNew York
June 4Afghanistan vs UgandaGuyana
June 4England vs ScotlandBarbados
June 5India vs IrelandNew York
June 5Papua New Guinea vs UgandaGuyana
June 5Australia vs OmanBarbados
June 6USA vs PakistanDallas
June 6Namibia vs ScotlandBarbados
June 7Canada vs IrelandNew York
June 7New Zealand vs AfghanistanGuyana
June 7Sri Lanka vs BangladeshDallas
June 8Netherlands vs South AfricaNew York
June 8Australia vs EnglandBarbados
June 8West Indies vs UgandaGuyana
June 9India vs PakistanNew York
June 9Oman vs ScotlandAntigua & Barbuda
June 10South Africa vs BangladeshNew York
June 11Pakistan vs CanadaNew York
June 11Sri Lanka vs NepalLauderhill
June 11Australia vs NamibiaAntigua & Barbuda
June 12USA vs IndiaNew York
June 12West Indies vs New ZealandTrinidad and Tobago
June 13England vs OmanAntigua & Barbuda
June 13Bangladesh vs NetherlandsSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 13Afghanistan vs Papua New GuineaTrinidad and Tobago
June 14USA vs IrelandLauderhill
June 14South Africa vs NepalSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 14New Zealand vs UgandaTrinidad and Tobago
June 15India vs CanadaLauderhill
June 15Namibia vs EnglandAntigua & Barbuda
June 15Australia vs ScotlandSaint Lucia
June 16Pakistan vs IrelandLauderhill
June 16Bangladesh vs NepalSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 16Sri Lanka vs NetherlandsSaint Lucia
June 17New Zealand vs Papua New GuineaTrinidad and Tobago
June 17West Indies vs AfghanistanSaint Lucia
T20 World Cup Schedule

Super 8 Schedule

June 19A2 vs D1Antigua & Barbuda
June 19BI vs C2Saint Lucia
June 20C1 vs A1Barbados
June 20B2 vs D2Antigua & Barbuda
June 21B1 vs D1Saint Lucia
June 21A2 vs C2Barbados
June 22A1 vs D2Antigua & Barbuda
June 22C1 vs B2Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 23A2 vs B1Barbados
June 23C2 vs D1Antigua & Barbuda
June 24B2 vs A1Saint Lucia
June 24C1 vs D2Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Super 8 Schedule For T20 World Cup

Knockout stage

1AWinner of Group 1
2BRunner-up of Group 2
>SF1WWinner of Semi-final 1
>SF2WWinner of Semi-final 2
2AWinner of Group 2
1BRunner-up of Group 1

Some of the highlights of the group stage fixtures include India vs Pakistan on June 9 in New York, England vs Australia on June 14 in Trinidad, and West Indies vs USA on June 16 in Florida. The full schedule of the tournament will be announced by ICC soon.

The tournament will be played across seven venues in West Indies and USA, with each venue hosting at least five matches. The venues are: Kensington Oval (Bridgetown, Barbados), Daren Sammy Cricket Ground (Gros Islet, Saint Lucia), Arnos Vale Stadium (Kingstown, Saint Vincent), Brian Lara Cricket Academy (San Fernando, Trinidad), Central Broward Park (Lauderhill, Florida), Eisenhower Park (East Meadow, New York), and Grand Prairie Stadium (Grand Prairie, Texas).

The defending champions are England, who won their second title in 2022 by defeating Pakistan in a thrilling final in Australia. They will be aiming to become the first team to win three T20 World Cups. Other strong contenders include India, who have not won a major ICC trophy since 2013, Pakistan, who have been consistent performers in T20Is, and West Indies, who have won two T20 World Cups in 2012 and 2016.

The T20 World Cup 2024 is set to be a spectacular event that will showcase the best of cricket and culture in West Indies and USA. It will also provide an opportunity for emerging teams and players to make a mark on the global stage. Stay tuned for more updates and news on this exciting tournament.

Similar Posts